Louisville Wheelmen

August 1995 Touring Rides

Ride ratings:
  1. Primarily flat
  2. Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
  3. Rolling hills
  4. Rolling with occasional steep hills
** New Riders Welcome: These rides are a little shorter and a little less hilly (if possible)


Tuesday, Aug 1, 6:00 pm
33 mi #3 "Handy Andy" New Albany Holiday Inn overflow lot, New Albany, IN. R.C. Ian Schill 426-2348

Wednesday, Aug 2, 8:30 am
30 mi #3 TRIATHLON (Bike, Swim & Eat) 2609 Cave Spring Place, Anchorage. R.C. John Larson 245-2374
Wednesday, Aug 2, 6:30 pm
25 mi #3 Northeast YMCA, LaGrange Road at Whipps Mill Road. R.C. Duc & Paula Do 893-8780

Thursday, Aug 3, 6:30 pm
Skills Drills & Thrills. 25 mi #2 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Enhance your skills & enjoy a ride. R.C. Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477

Friday, Aug 4, 6:30 pm
**15 mi #2 & COOK-OUT at the Freund's house. For info & RSVP call Adrian Freund 231-1083

Saturday, Aug 5, 8:00 am
**15/25/50/100/150 mi #2 (#3 for 25) Prospect Point Shopping Center. R.C. Kevin & Gail Clay 254-9850

Sunday, Aug 6, 8:00 am
30 mi #3 Big Rock, Cherokee Park. R.C. Phil Brown 499-6851
Sunday, Aug 6 2:00 pm
30 mi #3 Oxmoor Center (near Sear's). R.C. Earl Jones 895-4850

Monday, Aug 7, 6:30 pm
**15 mi #2 Bike Handling Classes. Big Rock in Cherokee Park. For info call Don & Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477. Taught by Effective Cycling Instructors.

Tuesday, Aug 8, 6:30 pm
30 mi #3 Long Run Park Golf Course, Flat Rock Rd.. R.C. Ed Akers 426-3390

Wednesday, Aug 9, 8:00 am
47 mi #3 Greentree Mall, Clarksville, IN. R.C. Sonny Neurath 893-2306
Wednesday, Aug 9, 6:30 pm
Watermelon Wednesday 30 mi #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Cold watermelon after ride. R.C. Norm Minnick 429-8339

Thursday, Aug 10, 6:30 pm
Skills Drills & Thrills. 25 mi #2 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Enhance your skills & enjoy a ride. R.C. Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477

Saturday, Aug 12, 8:00 am
30/60/100 mi #3 Around the Lake Garden Ridge (previously Outlets Mall) Blankenbaker Rd. at I-64. R.C. Duc & Paula Do 893-8780
Saturday, Aug 12, 8:00 am
60 mi #3 Overnight 1027 Franklin Street. Self contained. camp Saturday, night return to Louisville Sunday. R.C. Emily Boone 585-3430 & Alan Darby 895-4904

Sunday, Aug 13, 8:00 am
**15/60 mi #3 Anong's Famous Thai Food Ride 15 mi starts at 10:00 am 818 Lake Forest Pkwy.. R.C. Bill & Anong Pustow 245-1349
Sunday, Aug 13, 5:00 pm
25 mi #3 Vettiner Park. R.C. Barry Bennett 231-0081

Monday, Aug 14, 6:30 pm
**15 mi #2 Bike Handling Classes. Big Rock in Cherokee Park. For info call Don & Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477. Taught by Effective Cycling Instructors.

Tuesday, Aug 15, 6:30 pm
30 mi #3 Vettiner Park. R.C. Jim Preston 339-1637

Wednesday, Aug 16, 8:00 am
60 mi #3 Fairdale High School to Rooster Run. R.C. Marge Johannemann 368-6338
Wednesday, Aug 16, 6:30 pm
25 mi #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. R.C. Carolyn Minnette 495-0262

Thursday, Aug 17, 6:30 pm
30 mi #3 Vettiner Park. R.C. Adrian Freund 231-1083

Saturday, Aug 19, 8:00 am
30/65/110 mi #3/#4 Rory's Original Crestwood Station Century Crestwood Station, Crestwood, KY. R.C. Rory Whitaker 241-5851

Sunday, Aug 20, 8:00 am
Louisville Wheelmen's Picnic. Iroquois Park off New Cut Rd. Lunch @ noon, bring a covered dish. RSVP for menu choice, call Joseph Kipp 241-8789. Hamburgers and hotdogs provided.

Monday, Aug 21, 6:30 pm
**15 mi #2 Bike Handling Classes. Big Rock in Cherokee Park. For info call Don & Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477. Taught by Effective Cycling Instructors.

Tuesday, Aug 22, 6:00 pm
30 mi #3 Middletown Station (bigg's). R.C. Bill & Anong Pustow 245-1349

Wednesday, Aug 23, 9:00 am
30/50 mi #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Lunch at "Our Best" in Smithfield. R.C. Sonny Neurath 893-2306
Wednesday, Aug 23, 6:30 pm
Watermelon Wednesday 25 mi #3 Vettiner Park. Cold watermelon after ride, seed spitting contest with water bottles for 2nd & 3rd prizes. Mystery prize for 1st place. R.C. Phil Brown 499-6851

Thursday, Aug 24, 6:30 pm
25 mi #3 Floyd's Fork Park, S. Pope Lick Rd. off KY 155. R.C. Philip A. Esterle 245-8649

Saturday, Aug 26, 6:30 am
"WACKY" 30/60/100/165 mi #3 Belle of Louisville. Provide your own transportation home. R.C. Don & Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477

Sunday, Aug 27, 8:00 am
50 mi #3 Brunch at Claudia Sanders. E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. R.C. Earl Jones 895-4850
Sunday, Aug 27, 2:00 pm
**10/25 mi #3 Crosby Middle School. R.C. Philip Esterle 245-8649

Monday, Aug 28, 6:30 pm
**15 mi #2 Bike Handling Classes. Big Rock in Cherokee Park. For info call Don & Mary Margaret Williams 267-4477. Taught by Effective Cycling Instructors.
Tuesday, Aug 29, 6:30 pm
25 mi #3 Vettiner Park. R.C. Carolyn Minnette 495-0262

Wednesday, Aug 30, 8:00 am
45 mi #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. R.C. Joel Weaver 585-5579
Wednesday, Aug 30, 6:30 pm
Tour de Gil 10/25 #2/#3 9014 Waltlee Rd. Hotdogs & cold drinks after ride. You don't want to miss this one, a great time for all!! R.C. Gil Morris 239-7921

Thursday, Aug 31, 6:30 pm
**15/30 mi #3 Long Run Park. R.C. Kevin & Gail Clay 245-9850

Return to the Louisville Wheelmen home page

(c) Copyright 1995 The Louisville Wheelmen

this page maintained by Duc M. Do
last updated: 16 June 1995