Louisville Wheelmen

Louisville Wheelmen Newsletter -- January-February 1996

Annual Awards Banquet Recap

by Joseph A Kipp

Once again the Louisville Wheelmen gathered for a night of food fun and merriment as we celebrated the end of the cycling year. This year's banquet was once again held at Masterson’s Restaurant on the 18th of November and was attended by over 90 members.

The evening began with a reception period which was followed by the election of the executive board (the first true election since the late ‘70s). Following a buffet dinner, the program included the announcement of election results, presentation of awards and tokens of appreciation, and recognition of special accomplishments. The evening was closed out with retirement of the skull and presentation of the skull caps!

This year it seems we had an over abundance of mileage awards. The Yellow Jerseys, for the most miles ridden, were awarded to Bill Pustow with 6325 miles (a new record for the Louisville Wheelmen) and Gail Clay with 3379 miles. The Master's Jerseys, for the most miles for cyclists age 50 and over, were awarded to Paul Battle and Betty Neurath. The Junior awards, for most miles ridden age 18 and under, were awarded to Chris and Craig Browning. This year’s most improved rider awards were earned by Phil Brown, Marilyn Minnick, and Jim Preston. The 1995 Commuter award went to Tom Knight.

This year we had 23 members in the Century Club, who rode five or more centuries. Five of these centurions were first time members: Gail Clay, Daniel Gilchrist, Scott Majors, Norm Minnick, and Ian Schill. We also had several lifetime mileage awards earned this year:

  • 35,000 miles: Jay Palmer and David Runge
  • 30,000 miles: Paul Battle
  • 25,000 miles: Mary Margaret Williams and Rory Whitaker
  • 20,000 miles: Emily Boone, Debbie Browning, Alan Darby and Sonny Neurath
  • 15,000 miles: Duc Do, Joe Proctor and Ian Schill
  • 10,000 miles: Barbara Berman, Kevin Clay, Adrian Freund, Norm Minnick, Bill Pustow, Brian Shelley, and Paul Vice
  • 5,000 miles: Barry Bennet, Gail Clay, Jerry Gordon, Craig Holmes, Bill Johannemann, Marge Johannemann, Joe Kipp, Anong Pustow, Lee Tucker, and Gretchen Wilcox.

Nineteen Racing Team Members received awards for service or excellence at the banquet. Coffee mugs were awarded for service to Rusty Sexton, Lauren Staples, Mike Purcell, Craig Holmes, Luann Vuckson, Steve Gaylor and Mark Zaccone. Logo watches for service were awarded to Edd Johannemann, Amy Johannemann, Scott Shelton, Albert Linder, Terry Sullivan, Steve Kauffman and Barbara Berman. Logo watches for excellence were awarded to Aurilla Lesley, Rachel Spitler and Jennifer Hare. In addition, “Most Improved” Rider Awards were given to Lauren Staples and Rob Evans, and Rebecca Cole received a golf shirt designating her as a “team coach”.

A Lifetime Achievement plaque was awarded to Butch Congrove and Boyd Sigler for their many years of service and giving to the club and its members.

This year's League of American Bicyclists Volunteer of the Year Award was earned by Jim Tretter for all his years of service to the club.

The following members were elected to 1996 Executive Committee: President - Adrian Freund, VP Advocacy - Earl Jones, VP Communications - Joseph Kipp, VP Education - Joe Proctor, VP Racing - Dave Spitler, VP Touring - Kevin Clay, Secretary - Ian Schill, Treasurer - Jim Tretter.

A big thank-you goes out to Dave and Carol Leist, Debbie Browning, Brian Shelley, David Runge, Rory Whitaker, Bill and Marge Johannemann, Barbara Berman, Jim Preston, Marge Johannemann, Norm Minnick, and Glenn Todd for making the banquet a success. A special thanks goes to club sponsors and individuals who contributed door prizes: Bicycle Sport, Clarksville Schwinn Cyclery, Courtyard by Marriott, Hurstbourne Hotel and Convention Center, Highland Cycle, Inn By Jewish Hospital, Louisville Wheelmen, Louisville Wheelmen Racing Teams, Leukemia Society Of America, Old Kentucky Home Tour, Quest Outdoors, and St. Matthews Schwinn Cyclery and Fitness.

Return to the Newsletter Table of Contents
Return to the Louisville Wheelmen home page

Copyright ©1996 The Louisville Wheelmen

last updated: 22 December 1995
by Duc M. Do