Louisville Wheelmen



May 1996 Touring Rides

Ride ratings:
    #1 Primarily flat
    #2 Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
    #3 Rolling hills
    #4 Rolling with occasional steep hills
** New Riders Welcome: These rides are a little shorter and a little less hilly (if possible)


Wednesday, May 1, 8:30AM
25 mi. #2 Relaxed & Easy “Derby Happening”, 1027 Franklin Street, RC-Emily Boone, 585-3430
Wednesday, May 1, 6:30PM
25 mi. #3 Vettiner Park, RC-Paul Battle, 459-6973

Thursday, May 2, 6:30PM
**17/25 mi. #2/#3 Prospect Point Shopping Center, RC-Joe Kipp, 241-8789

Friday, May 3, 8:30AM
30/60 mi. #3 Oak’s Day Ride, Middletown Station (bigg’s hypermarket), RCs-Duc & Paula Do, 893-8780

Saturday, May 4, 9:00AM
25 mi. #3, Derby Day Ride from Middletown Christian Church, RCs-Kevin & Gail Clay, 254-9850

Sunday, May 5, 9:00AM
30/60/100 mi. #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-Dave Runge, 454-7563

Monday, May 6, 6:15PM
**Bike Handling Class, Taught by effective cycling instructors at Hogan’s Fountain in Cherokee Park. A 15 mi. #2 ride will follow the class @ 6:30. For information call Joe Proctor, 454-7464

Tuesday, May 7, 6:30PM
**15 mi. #2 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-Marilee Martin, 423-0600
Tuesday, May 7, 8:00PM
Touring Committee Meeting. @ Brandon’s BBQ on Westport Rd. after the ride. Come help set the July/August ride schedule, all members welcome. Contact Kevin Clay for information @ 254-9850.

Wednesday, May 8, 8:00AM
20/40 mi. #3 2609 Cave Spring Place, RC-John Larson, 245-2374
Wednesday, May 8, 6:00PM
**15/25 mi. #3 Bittersweet Shopping Center, RC-Donald Slayton, 966-4561

Thursday, May 9, 6:30PM
25 mi. (mileage may vary) #3 Skills Drills at E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Contact Rebecca Cole, 241-6578
Thursday, May 9, 6:30PM
**10/25 mi. #2/#3 Prospect Point Shopping Center, RC-Duc Do, 893-8780

Friday-Sunday, May 10,11,12
25 mi. #3 Bike, Hike & Canoe at Red River Gorge, RC-Emily Boone, 585-3430

Saturday, May 11, 9:00AM
25/40 mi. #3 Mike Linnig’s on Cane Run Rd., RCs-Marge & Bill Johannemann, 368-6338
Saturday, May 11, 2:00PM
25/40 mi. #3 Fairdale High School, RC-Todd Childers, 935-7907

Sunday, May 12, 8:00AM
30/60/100 mi. #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-David Runge, 454-7563
Sunday, May 12, 2:00PM
**15 mi. #2 Tour de Fairdale, Fairdale High School, RC-Bill Johannemann, 368-6338

Monday, May 13, 6:15PM
**Bike Handling Class, Taught by effective cycling instructors at Hogan’s Fountain in Cherokee Park. A 15 mi. #2 ride will follow the class @ 6:30. For information call Joe Proctor, 454-7464

Tuesday, May 14, 6:30PM
30 mi. #2 Vettiner Park, RC-Jim Tretter, 491-7120

Wednesday, May 15, 8:00AM
35 mi. #3 Iroquois Park, RC-Frank Coryell, 363-9774
Wednesday, May 15, 6:30PM
Tour de Gil 10/25 mi. 9014 Waltlee Rd. Hotdogs & cold drinks after ride. Call Gil Morris for information @ 239-7921. Don’t miss it!

Thursday, May 16, 6:30PM
25 mi. (mileage my vary) #3 Skills Drills @ E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Contact Rebecca Cole, 241-6578
Thursday, May 16, 6:30PM
15/25 mi. #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-Adrian Freund, 231-1083

Saturday, May 18, 8:00AM
Tour de Heart, 120 mi. 2-day tour, fee required, E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, for information call Alison Ewart @ 584-4222
Saturday, May 18, 8:00AM
15/25/50/100/150 mi. #2/#3 Prospect Point Shopping Center, RCs-Kevin & Gail Clay, 254-9850
Saturday, May 18, 2:30PM
20/40 mi. #3, Floyd’s Fork Park, RC-David Runge, 454-7563

Sunday, May 19, 8:00AM
15/30/60 mi. #3 Garden Ridge, RC-Duc Do, 893-8780
Sunday, May 19, 2:00PM
25 mi. #3 Fairdale High School, RC-Todd Childers, 935-7907

Monday, May 20, 6:15PM
**Bike Handling Class, Taught by effective cycling instructors at Hogan’s Fountain in Cherokee Park. A 15 mi. #2 ride will follow the class @ 6:30. For information call Joe Proctor, 454-7464

Tuesday, May 21, 6:30PM
17 mi #3 Prospect Point Shopping Center, RC-Joseph Kipp, 241-8789

Wednesday, May 22, 8:00AM
30/60/100 mi. #3 Long Run Park, RC-Alison Ewart, 584-4222
Wednesday, May 22, 6:30PM
15/25 mi. #3 Bittersweet Shopping Center, RC-Donald Slayton, 966-4561

Thursday, May 23, 6:30PM
25 mi. (mileage my vary) #3 Skills Drills @ E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Contact Rebecca Cole, 241-6578
Thursday, May 23, 6:30PM
15/22 mi. #2/#3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-Marilee Martin, 423-0600

Saturday, May 25, 8:00AM
30/60/100 mi. #3 Iroquois Park, RCs-Don & Mary Margaret Williams, 267-4477

Sunday, May 26, 8:00AM
Ride to Strawberry Festival, 45 mi. #3 Leaves from Holiday Inn, New Albany overflow lot, RC-Jim Preston, 339-1637
Sunday, May 26, 2:00PM
15/25 mi. #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-Duc Do, 893-8780

Monday, May 27, 6:15PM
**Bike Handling Class, Taught by effective cycling instructors at Hogan’s Fountain in Cherokee Park. A 15 mi. #2 ride will follow the class @ 6:30. For information call Joe Proctor, 454-7464

Tuesday, May 28, 6:30PM
25 mi. #3 E.P. Tom Sawyer Park, RC-Ed Akers, 426-3390

Wednesday, May 29, 8:00AM
30/50 mi. #3 Iroquois Park (Zoneton), RC-Marge Johannemann,368-6338
Wednesday, May 29, 6:30PM
**15/25 mi. #3, Long Run Park, RC-Jim Tretter, 491-7120

Thursday, May 30, 6:30PM
25 mi. #3 (approx mileage) Skills Drills @ E.P. Tom Sawyer Park. Contact Rebecca Cole, 241-6578
Thursday, May 30, 6:30PM
30 mi. #3, Prospect Point Shopping Center, RC-Paul Battle, 459-6973


Return to the Touring Program page
Return to the Louisville Wheelmen home page

Copyright ©1996 The Louisville Wheelmen

last updated: 30 April 1996
by Duc M. Do