Louisville Bicycle Club


January 1997 Touring Rides

Ride ratings:
    #1 Primarily flat
    #2 Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
    #3 Rolling hills
    #4 Rolling with occasional steep hills
New Riders are welcome on all rides. Club Policy is ride captain will finish with slowest riders.
Please be aware of your abilities and the length and difficulty of rides when selecting rides.


Wednesday, Jan 1, 1:00 PM
POLAR BEAR RIDE, 20 mi #3, Hogan's Fountain, Cherokee Park, RC-Gary Wyngarden, 228-3122. Coffee afterward at Heine Brothers Coffee, 2714 Frankfort Ave.

Saturday, Jan 4, 2:00 PM
20/30 mi #3, bigg's in Middletown Station, RC-Phil Brown, 499-6851

Sunday, Jan 5, 12:00 PM
25 mi #3, Vettiner Park, RC-John Wilson, 459-8164

Tuesday, Jan 7, 7:00 PM
Trainer Tour, St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane, RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202

Wednesday, Jan 8, 10:00 AM
20-30 mi #3, 1027 Franklin St., RC-Emily Boone, 585-3430

Thursday, Jan 9, 7:00 PM,
Walking Tour, Seneca Park Walking Track, RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202. Please bring flashlights/reflective clothing.

Saturday, Jan 11, 10:00 AM
20 mi #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer Park, RC-Jim Preston, 339-1637
Saturday, Jan 11, 12:00 noon
Touring Committee Meeting, Italian Oven, Springhurst Shopping Center. For information, call Gary Wyngarden at 228-3122

Sunday, Jan 12, 10:00 AM
15/30 mi, #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer Park, with Hot Chocolate/Cider stop at Rory's, RC's-Norm Minnick, 249-8339 & Rory Whittaker, 241-5851

Tuesday, Jan 14, 7:00 PM
Trainer Tour, St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane, RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202

Wednesday, Jan 15, 10:00 AM
25 mi #3, Twice Told Coffee House, RC-Sonny Neurath, 893-2306

Thursday, Jan 16, 6:00 PM
Walking Tour, Vettiner Park, RC-Brenda Palmer, 267-9175

Saturday, Jan 18, 2:00 PM
25 mi #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer Park, RC-Rory Whitaker, 241-5851

Sunday, Jan 19, 1:00 PM
15/25 mi #3, Vettiner Park, RC-Adrian Freund, 231-1083

Tuesday, Jan 21, 7:00 PM
Trainer Tour, St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane, RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202

Wednesday, Jan 22, 10:00 AM
15/25 mi #3, 930 Franklin St, RC-Alison Ewart, 584-4222

Thursday, Jan 23, 7:00 PM
Walking Tour, Seneca Park Walking Track, RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202. Please bring flashlights/reflective clothing.

Saturday, Jan 25, 1:00 PM
15/30 mi #3, bigg's in Middletown Station, RC-Kevin Clay, 254-9850

Sunday, Jan 26, 2:00 PM
20 mi #3, Hogan's Fountain, Cherokee Park, RC-Dave Runge, 454-7563

Tuesday, Jan 28, 7:00 PM
Trainer Tour, St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane, RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202

Wednesday, Jan 29, 10:00 AM
25 mi #3, Fairdale Community Center, RC-Marge Johanneman, 368-6338

Thursday, Jan 30, 7:00 PM
Walking Tour, 3520 Maple Ave. (Jeffersontown), RC-Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202


Return to the Touring Program page
Return to the Louisville Bicycle Club home page

Copyright ©1996 The Louisville Wheelmen

last updated: 25 December 1996
by Duc M. Do