Louisville Bicycle Club


May 1997 Touring Rides

Ride ratings:
    #1 Primarily flat
    #2 Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
    #3 Rolling hills
    #4 Rolling with occasional steep hills
New Riders are welcome on all rides. Club Policy is ride captain will finish with slowest riders.
Please be aware of your abilities and the length and difficulty of rides when selecting rides.


Thursday, May 1, 6:00 PM
30 mi # 3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Jim Preston, 339-1637

Friday, May 2, 8:30 AM
Oaks Day Escape, 15/30/60 mi #3, Garden Ridge, Blankenbaker Rd. & I-64. RC: Duc & Paula Do, 893-8780

Saturday, May 3, 8:30 AM
30/60 mi #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Rory Whittaker, 241-5851

Sunday, May 4, 9:00AM
30/60 mi #3, Taylorsville Lake Visitors Center. RC: Adrian Freund, 231-1083

Tuesday, May 6, 6:15 PM
22 mi #3, Prospect Point Shopping Center. RC: Bob Horner, 228-4777

Wednesday, May 7, 8:30 AM
25/35 mi #3, Seneca Park. RC: Barbara Berman, 454-3452
Wednesday, May 7, 6:00 PM
30 mi #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Ed Akers, 426-3390
Wednesday, May 7, 8:00 PM
Touring Committee Meeting, Italian Oven in Springhurst, Highway 22 at Gene Snyder Freeway. Contact Gary Wyngarden, 228-3122, for more information.

Saturday, May 10, 9:00 AM
35/55 mi #3, Joint Ride with SIW, Methodist Church, Hwy 56E, Paoli, IN. RC: Jay Palmer, 267-9175
Saturday, May 10, 2:00 PM
Mountain Bike Ride, 10 mi #4, Otter Creek Nature Center, RC: Gary Wyngarden, 228-3122

Sunday, May 11, 9:00 AM
60 mi #3, bigg’s (Middletown Station). RC: Duc Do, 893-8780
Sunday, May 11, 11:00 AM
15/30 mi #3, bigg’s (Middletown Station). RC: Phil Brown, 499-6851

Monday, May 12, 6:15 PM
Bike Handling Class and Ride, 15 mi #2, Hogan’s Fountain, Cherokee Park. Contact Joe Proctor at 454-7464 for more information.

Tuesday, May 13, 6:00 PM
15/25 mi #3, Vettiner Park. RC: Adrian Freund, 231-1083

Wednesday, May 14, 6:30 PM
Time Trial Series, Charlestown, IN. RC: Cheryl Brawner, 459-9949

Thursday, May 15, 6:00 PM
16 mi #2 on River Walk, TARC Parking Lot, 11th & Broadway, RC: Todd Childers, 935-7907

Saturday, May 17, 9:00 AM
Overnight Self-Contained Camping Ride to Clifty Falls in Madison, Ind., 60 mi each way, #2, 160 Wiltshire Ave. RC: Alan Darby, 895-4904 & Ellen Muelller, 485-1758
Saturday, May 17, 9:00 AM
60 mi #3, Bashford Manor Overflow Lot, RC: Earl Jones, 895-4850

Sunday, May 18, 10:00 AM
SIW Picnic Ride, 30 mi # 3, Perin Park, Jeffersonville, Ind. Bring Covered Dish. RC: Dick Keith, 283-5156
Sunday, May 18, 2:00 PM
40 mi #3, LaGrange Square. RC: Ed Akers, 426-3390
Sunday, May 18, 2:00 PM
Family Ride, 15 mi #2, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Norm & Marilyn Minnick, 429-8339
Sunday, May 18, 5:30 PM
General Membership Meeting, Bank of Louisville, Hurstbourne Lane & Whittington Parkway. Contact Jim Preston at 339-1637 for more information.

Monday, May 19, 6:15 PM
Bike Handling Class and Ride, 15 mi #2, Hogan’s Fountain, Cherokee Park. Contact Joe Proctor at 454-7464 for more information.

Tuesday, May 20, 6:00 PM
15/25 mi #3, bigg’s (Middletown Station). RC: Scott Anderson, 244-9710

Wednesday, May 21, 8:00 AM
30/60 mi #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park, RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222
Wednesday, May 21, 6:30 PM
Tour de Gil, 10/25 mi #3, 9014 Waltlee Road, Hot Dogs & Drinks afterward. RC: Gil Morris, 239-7921

Thursday, May 22, 6:15 PM
28 mi #3, Prospect Point Shopping Center. RC: Bob Horner, 228-4777

Saturday, May 24, 10:00 AM
20 mi #3, Vettiner Park. RC: John Wilson, 459-8164

Sunday, May 25, 8:00 AM
20/40/60 mi #3, Floyd’s Fork Park. RC: Duc Do, 893-8780
Sunday, May 25, 3:00 PM
Centennial Ride, 15/30 mi #2, Hogan’s Fountain, Cherokee Park. RC: Earl Jones 895-4850

Monday, May 26, 8:30 AM
Memorial Day Red River Gorge Ride, 30 mi #3+, Meet at Garden Ridge, Blankenbaker Rd. & I-64 to caravan to Gorge, RC: Gary Wyngarden, 228-3122
Monday, May 26, 6:15 PM
Bike Handling Class and Ride, 15 mi #2, Hogan’s Fountain, Cherokee Park. Contact Joe Proctor at 454-7464 for more information.

Tuesday, May 27, 6:30 PM
15/30 mi #3, Prospect Point Shoping Center. RC: Paul Battle, 459-6973

Wednesday, May 28, 8:00 AM
25/50 mi #3, Oxmoor (behind Sears), lunch at Our Best in Smithfield (bring cleat covers). RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222
Wednesday, May 28, 6:30 PM
25 mi #3, E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Rory Whittaker, 241-5851

Thursday, May 29, 6:00 PM
15/30 mi #3, bigg’s (Middletown Station). RC: Scott Anderson, 244-9710

Saturday, May 31, 8:00 AM
30/60/100 mi #3 E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Ian Schill, 245-4507

Return to the Touring Program page
Return to the Louisville Bicycle Club home page

Copyright ©1997 Louisville Wheelmen
last updated: 1 May 1997
by Duc M. Do