Louisville Bicycle Club


Ride & Event Schedules

January 1998

February 1998

March 1998

April 1998

May 1998

June 1998

July 1998

August 1998

September 1998

October 1998

November 1998

December 1998

 

August 1998 Rides & Events

Ride ratings:
    #1 Primarily flat
    #2 Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
    #3 Rolling hills
    #4 Rolling with occasional steep hills. Difficult!
Pace Ratings: (average speed)
    A: 18-20+ mph B: 15-18 mph C: 12-15 mph D: 9-12 mph
New riders always welcome, our ride captains will not drop you. Rides of 15 miles or less generally suitable for less advanced cyclists.

ANSI- or Snell-approved helmets are required


Saturday, August 1

  • 9:00 am - 20/47/70 mi. #3. Long Run Park (not golf course), off of Flat Rock Rd. past Polo Fields. RC: Jay “Ed” Akers, 426-3390.

Sunday, August 2

  • 8:00 am - 40/80 mi. #4. Fairdale High School. Forest follies! A Jim’s Jewel ride. RC: Jim McDonald, 426-6420.

Monday, August 3

  • 6:30 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Contact Glenn Todd, 897-5406, for more info.

Tuesday, August 4

  • 6:30 pm - 15B/30 mi. #3. Vettiner Park on Mary Dell Lane at Billtown Rd. RC: Scott Anderson, 244-9710.

Wednesday, August 5

Thursday, August 6

  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. An LBC Fruit Ride. Enjoy fresh fruit after the ride. St. Matthews Episcopal Church, 330 N. Hubbards Lane. RC: Jim Kimmel, 893-2206.

Saturday, August 8

  • 8:00 am - 20/40/80 mi. #3. Rooster Run Ramble. Vettiner Park on Mary Dell Lane at Billtown Rd. RC: Jay Palmer, 267-9175

Sunday, August 9

  • 8:00 am - 30/60/100 mi. #3. D pace OK on 30 mile. Joint LBC/Southern Indiana Wheelmen ride. Prospect Point Shopping Center, Hwy.42 and River Road. RC: Dick Keith, 283-5156 and Bob Walker.

Monday, August 10

  • 6:30 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Contact Glenn Todd, 897-5406, for more info.

Tuesday, August 11

  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3 Vettiner Park on Mary Dell Lane at Billtown Rd. Buck Creek Loop. RC: Don & Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202

Wednesday, August 12

  • 9:00 am - 25/50 mi. #3, D pace. Iroquois Park near Amphitheatre. RC: Sonny Neurath, 893-2306.
  • 5:45 pm - The Oates Flag Time Trials. Floyd’s Fork Park - South Pope Lick Road and Old Taylorsville Road. Registration begins at 5:45 p.m. For more information contact the LBC Voice-Tel number, (502) 329-1848, ext.3. Go for your personal best!

Thursday, August 13

Saturday, August 15

Sunday, August 16

  • 8:00 am - 30/60/100 mi. #3. D pace OK on 30-mile route. A Jim’s Jewel ride. Floyd’s Fork Park - South Pope Lick Road and Old Taylorsville Road. RC: Jim McDonald, 426-6420.

Monday, August 17

  • 6:30 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Contact Glenn Todd, 897-5406, for more info.

Tuesday, August 18

Wednesday, August 19

  • 8:00 am - 25/50 mi. #3, D pace. George Rogers Clark Park. RC: Len Ferryman, 634-9007.
  • 6:30 pm - 15/25 mi. #3/#4+. K-Mart, Grant Line Rd. @ I-265, New Albany. Expect at least 2 extreme hills on 25-mile ride. RC: Dave “give ’em hill” Stewart, 636-3297.

Thursday, August 20

Friday, August 21

Saturday, August 22

  • 8:00 am - 30/60/100 mi. #3/#4. Iroquois Park to Rooster Run and beyond. RC: Don & Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202

Sunday, August 23

Monday, August 24

  • 6:30 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Contact Glenn Todd, 897-5406, for more info.

Tuesday, August 25

Wednesday, August 26

  • 9:00 am - 47 mi. #3, C/D pace. Greentree Mall, Hwy 131, Clarksville, near Sears Automotive. RC: Sonny Neurath, 893-2306.
  • 6:30 pm - Tour de Gil! 10B mile #2/25 mi. #3. 9014 Waltlee Road in Fern Creek. Hot dogs and refreshments after ride (no red stuff). RC: Gil Morris, 239-7921.

Thursday, August 27

Saturday, August 29

  • 8:00 am - 15/30/60 mi. #3 Vettiner Park on Mary Dell Lane at Billtown Rd. Return “socks” to Fairfield. RC: Debbie Browning, 893-4232, and Paul Battle, 459-6973

Sunday, August 30

  • 8:00 am - 30/60/100 mi. #2/#3 Iroquois Park - Return of the Emerald Necklace around Jefferson County parks - RC: Don & Mary Margaret Williams, 267-0202
  • 4:30 pm - Family Ride, 12 mi. #2, Riverwalk, 4th and Main. RC: Norm & Marilyn Minnick, 429-8339

-----------------------------------------

Monday, August 31

  • 6:30 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Contact Glenn Todd, 897-5406, for more info.
  • PLAN AHEAD NOW! YOU’VE ALREADY MISSED EARLY REGISTRATION FOR THE OLD KENTUCKY HOME TOUR, SEPTEMBER 19-20! JOIN OUR GREAT EVENT! VOLUNTEERS NEEDED. FOR INFORMATION OR TO VOLUNTEER, CALL EARL JONES AT 895-4850.

[  PREVIOUS MONTH  | LBC home  | Touring Program  | NEXT MONTH  ]

Copyright ©1998 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 23 April 1998
last updated: 25 June 1998
by Duc M. Do