Louisville Bicycle Club
Table of Contents
January 1999
February 1999
March 1999
April 1999
May 1999
June 1999
July 1999
August 1999
September 1999
October 1999
November 1999
December 1999

June 1999 Rides & Events

Ride ratings:
    #1 Primarily flat
    #2 Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
    #3 Rolling hills
    #4 Rolling with occasional steep hills. Difficult!
    #5 Dominated by steep hills and extreme grades.
Pace Ratings: (average speed)
    A Pace = 8-10 miles/hour average
    B Pace = 10-13 miles/hour average
    C Pace = 13-15 miles/hour average
    D Pace = 15-18 miles/hour average
    E Pace = 18+ miles/hour average

ANSI- or Snell-approved helmets are required


Tuesday, June 1

Wednesday, June 2

Thursday, June 3

  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. Iroquois Park. RC: Jim McDonald, 502-244-0931.

Friday, June 4

  • 8:00 am - LAB National Rally. 15/25/40/50 mi. #2/#3. Galt House East. $30 registration fee - free for volunteers! For more information call Earl Jones, 502-895-4850 or Jim McDonald, 502-244-0931.

Saturday, June 5

  • 8:00 am - LAB National Rally. Various ride lengths. $30 registration fee - free for volunteers! For more information call Earl Jones, 502-895-4850 or Jim McDonald, 502-244-0931.

Sunday, June 6

  • 8:00 am - LAB National Rally. Various ride lengths. $30 registration fee - free for volunteers! For more information call Earl Jones, 502-895-4850 or Jim McDonald, 502-244-0931.

Monday, June 7

  • 8:00 am - LAB National Rally. 12 mi. #2. Galt House East. $30 registration fee - free for volunteers! For more information call Earl Jones, 502-895-4850 or Jim McDonald, 502-244-0931.
  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info, contact Glenn Todd, 502-897-5406.

Tuesday, June 8

Wednesday, June 9

  • 8:00 am - 35/55 mi. #2/#3. Wal-Mart – Westport Road & Chamberlain Lane. RC: Dick Williams, 502-426-4844.
  • 5:45 pm - Oates Flag Time Trial. 10 mi. Floyd’s Fork Park. Sponsored by Oates Flag. Everyone is welcome. What’s your personal best? Ribbons (and prizes to licensed racers) given to the top three times in each category. Fee and helmets required. For more info contact: Anne Huntington, 502-332-6650.

Thursday, June 10

  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. Middletown Station (bigg’s). RC: Michele Miller, 502-893-5941.
  • 6:00 pm – 9:30 pm - Ride Scheduling Meeting. Immediately before and after the ride at bigg’s. Jim McDonald, 502-244-0931.

Saturday, June 12

  • 9:00 am - 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park, near Flat Rock Road entrance. RC: Paul Battle, 502-459-6973.

Sunday, June 13

  • 9:00 am - 30/60 mi. #3. Vettiner Park. RC: Jay Palmer, 502-267-9175.

Monday, June 14

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info, contact Glenn Todd, 502-897-5406.

Tuesday, June 15

  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. Long Run Park, near Flat Rock Road entrance. RC: Jim Preston, 502-339-2122.

Wednesday, June 16

  • 9:00 am - 47 mi. #3. Greentree Mall. RC: Sonny Neurath, 502-893-2306.
  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. Sam’s Club, Bluegrass Pkwy at Blankenbaker Rd. RC: Bob Horner, 502-228-4777.

Thursday, June 17

  • 6:30 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. McNeely Lake Park. RC: Paul Battle, 502-459-6973.

Saturday, June 19

  • 9:00 am - Pedal and Paddle. 30/60 mi. #3. Overflow lot at the Holiday Inn, New Albany. A car sag will be provided to carry a cooler/food and a change of clothes for paddlers. RC: Alan Darby, 502-895-4904 and Ellen Mueller, 502-485-1758.

Sunday, June 20

Monday, June 21

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info, contact Glenn Todd, 502-897-5406.
  • 6:30 pm - Newsletter Stuffing. Call Norm Minnick to volunteer, 502-412-4224.

Tuesday, June 22

Wednesday, June 23

  • 8:00 am - 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park, near Flat Rock Road entrance. RC: Alison Ewart, 502-584-4222.
  • 6:30 pm - Tour de Gil. 10/25 mi. #2/#3. 9014 Waltlee Road. Hot dogs and drinks after the ride! RC: Gil Morris, 502-239-7921.

Thursday, June 24

Saturday, June 26

Sunday, June 27

  • 10:00 am - Tour de Art. 10 mi. #1. Cherokee Park, Hogan’s Fountain. Historian Tom Owen will be along to discuss 10 different points of interest. This is a family-oriented ride - slow and easy! RC: Barbara Berman, 502-454-3452.
  • 2:00 pm - 15/30 mi. #2/#3. Prospect Point Shopping Center. RC: Dave Stewart, 502-636-3297.

Monday, June 28

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm - Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info, contact Glenn Todd, 502-897-5406.

Tuesday, June 29

Wednesday, June 30


PREVIOUS MONTH  | LBC home  | Touring Program  | NEXT MONTH  ]

Copyright ©1999 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 22 January 1999
last updated: 21 April 1999
by Duc M. Do