Louisville Bicycle Club

Table of Contents

January 1999
February 1999
March 1999
April 1999
May 1999
June 1999
July 1999
August 1999
September 1999
October 1999
November 1999
December 1999

July 1999 Rides & Events

Ride ratings:
    #1 Primarily flat
    #2 Mostly flat with some hills, perhaps 1/3 of total distance is hills
    #3 Rolling hills
    #4 Rolling with occasional steep hills. Difficult!
    #5 Dominated by steep hills and extreme grades.
Pace Ratings: (average speed)
    A Pace = 8-10 miles/hour average
    B Pace = 10-13 miles/hour average
    C Pace = 13-15 miles/hour average
    D Pace = 15-18 miles/hour average
    E Pace = 18+ miles/hour average

ANSI- or Snell-approved helmets are required


Thursday, July 1

  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Iroquois Park – Iroquois Amphitheater entrance on New Cut Road. RC: Greg Beachy, 491-9241.

Saturday, July 3

  • 6:30 am, WACKY -- 170-mile crossing of Kentucky from Louisville to Franklin. Start at the Belle of Louisville wharf, 2nd St. & River Rd. Shorter options of 30/60/100-miles are also available for those not wishing to go the entire distance. If you wish to ride the WACKY ride, please sign up with the Ride Captain before June 15 for travel and lodging arrangements. RC: Michael Lowe, 893-8798.

Sunday, July 4

  • 6:30 am, TACKY -- 170-mile crossing of Kentucky from Franklin to Louisville. Start at the Franklin exit off I-65 (Exit 2). If you wish to ride the TACKY ride, please sign up with the Ride Captain before June 15 for travel and lodging arrangements. RC: Michael Lowe, 893-8798.
  • 8:30 am, 36/70 mi. #2/#3. Floyd Central High in Georgetown, Ind. Park in lower (new) lot. Ride to Corydon for a real 4th of July parade! Optional leg to Leavenworth for 70 milers. RC: Jim Kimmel, 893-5577.

Monday, July 5

  • 6:30 pm, Bike Handling Class cancelled.

Tuesday, July 6

Wednesday, July 7

  • 8:00 am, 35 mi. #3. 102 Pope St. RC: Emily Boone, 585-3430.
  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Floyd’s Fork Park – South Pope Lick Road and Old Taylorsville Road. RC: Jim McDonald, 244-0931.

Thursday, July 8

Saturday, July 10

  • 7:00 am, 15/30/60/100 mi. #2/4. Ride to Madison. Crestwood Station – KY 146 & N. Camden Lane, Crestwood. RC: Norm & Marilyn Minnick, 412-4224.

Sunday, July 11

Monday, July 12

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm. Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info contact: Glenn Todd, 897-5406.

Tuesday, July 13

Wednesday, July 14

  • 9:00 am, 15/30mi. #3. Triathlon #1 (bike, swim, eat). 6205 Deep Creek Dr. RC: Dave & Norma Colver, 228-6831.
  • 5:45 pm 10 mi. Floyds Fork Time Trial. Sponsored by Oates Flag. Everyone is welcome. What’s your personal best? Ribbons (and prizes to licensed racers) given to the top three times in each category. Fee and helmets required. For more info contact: Anne Huntington, 332-6650.

Thursday, July 15

Saturday, July 17

  • 1:00 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Walsh Park in LaGrange. RC: Ed Akers, 426-3390.

Sunday, July 18

  • 7:30 am, 30/50/100 mi. #3/4. A Capitol Ride. Long Run Park – near Flat Rock Road entrance. Tour de Bagdad, Choateville, Frankfort and Evergreen. A great ride (yes there are hills!). RC: Adrian Freund, AICP, 231-1083.

Monday, July 19

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm. Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info contact: Glenn Todd, 897-5406.

Tuesday, July 20

  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Sam’s Club at Blankenbaker and Bluegrass Pkwy. RC: Ed Akers, 426-3390.

Wednesday, July 21

  • 8:00 am, 36 mi. #3. Triathlon #2 (bike,swim,eat). 2609 Cave Spring Pl. RC: John Larson, 245-2374.
  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Long Run Park – near Flat Rock Road entrance. RC: Dave Stewart, 636-3297.

Thursday, July 22

Saturday, July 24

Sunday, July 25

Monday, July 26

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm. Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary, 601 Browns Lane. Think you know all there is to riding a bike? You may be surprised! Come learn basic skills every rider should know. For more info contact: Glenn Todd, 897-5406.

Tuesday, July 27

  • 6:15 pm, 17/25 mi. #2/3. K-Mart – New Cut Road & Outer Loop. “Climbing Is Optional” Ride the flats or climb Mt. Mitchell and Mt. Jefferson - your choice (#4 if climbing and #3 if flat). RC: John Larson, 245-2374.

Wednesday, July 28

  • 8:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Memphis (Ind.) Truck Plaza. RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222.
  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Vettiner Park – Mary Dell Lane. RC: Jim McDonald, 244-0931.

Thursday, July 29

  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Fruit Ride (fruit by Marilee Martin). Prospect Point Shopping Center – US 42 and Upper River Road. RC: Marilyn Minnick, 412-4224.

Saturday, July 31


PREVIOUS MONTH  | LBC home  | Touring Program  | NEXT MONTH  ]

Copyright ©1999 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 22 January 1999
last updated: 28 June 1999
by Duc M. Do