Louisville Bicycle Club
Table of Contents
January 2000
February 2000
March 2000
April 2000
May 2000
June 2000
July 2000
August 2000
September 2000
October 2000
November 2000
December 2000

April 2000 Rides & Events

Ride difficulty ratings are approximate:
    #1: Family/Beginner Ride
    #2: Mostly flat to rolling, up to 1/3 hills
    #3: Rolling, up to 1/2 hills
    #4: Rolling, mostly hills, some long, steep grades and/or long mileage
    #5: Mostly long, steep hills and/or extremely long mileage.

ANSI- or Snell-approved helmets are required

All rides will begin 15 minutes after the scheduled ride time. All riders are welcome to join us!

All phone numbers are in 502 area code except where noted.


Saturday, April 1

  • 9:30 am, 15/30/50 mi. #2/3. McNeely Lake Park. RC: Adrian Freund, 231-1083.
  • ~2:30 pm, Touring Meeting & May/June Ride Scheduling. Shortly after the ride at the Middletown Pizza Hut on Shelbyville Rd. Contact Jim McDonald for information, 244-0931.

Sunday, April 2

Tuesday, April 4

  • 8:00 am, 25/50 mi. #3. 5207 Heather Hill Rd, LaGrange, KY (Heidi's house - call for directions). Bring your trainer/rollers in case of bad weather - we will ride in Heidi's house rain, snow, sleet or hail. RC: Eddie Doerr, 353-2136.
  • 5:45 pm, 15/25 mi. #2/3. McNeely Lake Park. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Wednesday, April 5

  • 9:30 am, 20/40 mi. #3. Mike Linnig's. RC: Sonny Neurath, 893-2306.

Thursday, April 6

Friday, April 7

  • 12 noon, 35 mi. #3. Holiday Inn, New Albany, Overflow Lot. Revised Handy Andy. RC: Eddie Doerr, 353-2136.
  • 6:00 pm, Adopt-A-Highway Clean-up. Meet at the corner of KY 329 and KY 1694 (Sleepy Hollow). Eat at Café Jopa afterwards. RC: Barbara Berman, 454-3452.

Saturday, April 8

  • 9:00 am, 15/30 mi. #3. E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Norm Minnick, 412-4224.
  • 3:00 pm, 18/24 mi. #3. L'Esprit Volunteers Ride. Ride after the road race! I-71 North to Exit 28, turn left and follow bike race signs to race/ride. RC: Cheryl Brawner, 896-8109, bikecoack@aol.com.

Sunday, April 9

Tuesday, April 11

  • 8:00 am, 25/50 mi. #3. 5207 Heather Hill Rd, LaGrange, KY. See April 4 listing. RC: Eddie Doerr, 353-2136.

Wednesday, April 12

Thursday, April 13

Friday, April 14

Saturday, April 15

  • 9:00 am, 20/40 mi. #3. Long Run Park – near Flat Rock Road entrance. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Sunday, April 16

Tuesday, April 18

  • 8:00 am, 25/50 mi. #3. 5207 Heather Hill Rd, LaGrange, KY. See April 4 listing. RC: Eddie Doerr, 353-2136.

Wednesday, April 19

  • 9:00 am, 20/40 mi. #3. Ride & Eat, 3523 Coronado. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.
  • 5:45 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Prospect Point Shopping Center. RC: Joe Argabrite, 895-0493.

Thursday, April 20

Friday, April 21

Saturday, April 22 - Earth Day at the Louisville Zoo - Come Join the Festivities!

  • 9:00 am, 33/42 mi. #3. Jim Tretter's Birthday Ride. Floyd’s Fork Park. RC: Jim Tretter, 491-7120.
  • 9:00 am, 10 mi. #1.5. Turtle Ride. Big Rock in Cherokee Park. RC: Joe Ward, 897-7819.
  • ~11:30 am, Jim's Birthday Party. Lunch provided by Barbara Tretter (call 491-7120 for directions) after the rides.

Sunday, April 23

  • Happy Easter Holiday! Can you hop your bike like the Easter Bunny? Enjoy a day of rest and relaxation!

Tuesday, April 25

  • 8:00 am, 25/50 mi. #3. 5207 Heather Hill Rd, LaGrange, KY. See April 4 listing. RC: Eddie Doerr, 353-2136.
  • 5:45 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Prospect Point Shopping Center. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Wednesday, April 26

  • 9:00 am, 25/50 mi. #3 Memphis Truck Plaza. RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222.
  • 5:45 pm, 15/30 mi. #2/3. Floyd’s Fork Park. RC: Joe Argabrite, 895-0493.

Thursday, April 27

Friday, April 28

Saturday, April 29

  • 8:30 am, 15/30/60 mi. #2/3. Chat-’n-Nibble Ride. E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park. RC: Norm Minnick, 412-4224.
  • 11:00 am, 25 mi. #2. Mini-Marathon Recovery Ride. Downtown YMCA, 555 S. Second St. RC: Eddie Doerr, 353-2136.
  • 11:00 am, 8-10 mi. #1.5. Turtle Ride. Ledge Rd. entrance to Cherokee Park, 1 block from Grinstead and Lexington Rd intersection. RC: Marilyn Minnick, 412-4224.

Sunday, April 30

  • 9:30 am, 20/30/50 mi. #3. Wheels of Justice Ride. Glen Oaks Country Club. Proceeds benefit the Legal Aid Society. RC: Dave Stewart, 636-3297.
  • 11:00 am, 15/30 mi. #3. Long Run Park – near Flat Rock Road entrance. RC: Scott Majors, 648-9350.


PREVIOUS MONTH  | LBC home  | Touring Program  | NEXT MONTH  ]

Copyright ©2000 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 1 January 2000
last updated: 26 March 2000
by Duc M. Do