Louisville Bicycle Club
Table of Contents
January 2000
February 2000
March 2000
April 2000
May 2000
June 2000
July 2000
August 2000
September 2000
October 2000
November 2000
December 2000

August 2000 Rides & Events

Ride difficulty ratings are approximate:
    #1: Family/Beginner Ride
    #2: Mostly flat to rolling, up to 1/3 hills
    #3: Rolling, up to 1/2 hills
    #4: Rolling, mostly hills, some long, steep grades and/or long mileage
    #5: Mostly long, steep hills and/or extremely long mileage.

ANSI- or Snell-approved helmets are required

All rides will begin 15 minutes after the scheduled ride time. All riders are welcome to join us!

All phone numbers are in 502 area code except where noted.


Tuesday, August 1

Wednesday, August 2

  • 8:00 am, 20/40 mi. #3. Biathlon (Bike and Eat). 3523 Coronado Dr. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.
  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #3. Long Run Park. RC: Scott Majors, 648-9350, 893-1768.

Thursday, August 3

  • 6:30 pm, 7.5 mi. #3++ (30-mile credit). Briar Hill Park Mountain Bike Trails. Hwy 22, 4 miles east of Gene Snyder Freeway. RC: Ken Hoff, 425-3212.

Saturday, August 5

  • 9:00 am, 9 mi. Turtle Ride. Meet at the Courier-Journal parking lot (second lot south of Broadway on east side of 6th St.). RC: Joe Ward, 582-4669(w), 897-7819(h).

Sunday, August 6

Monday, August 7

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm, Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Come learn basic riding skills every rider should know followed by a short ride. For more info contact: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Tuesday, August 8

Wednesday, August 9

  • 8:00 am, 25/50 mi. #3. Memphis Truck Stop. RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222.
  • 6:30 pm, Oates Flag Time Trial. Floyd’s Fork Park – South Pope Lick Road and Old Taylorsville Road. Sponsored by Oates Flag. 10 mile out and back course; registration opens at 5:30, closes at 6:15; 6:30 first rider starts. Everyone is welcome. Ribbons (and prizes to licensed racers) given to the top five times in each category (by age in 5-yr increments, USCF licensed and citizen cats). $10 entry fee and helmets required.

Thursday, August 10

Saturday, August 12

  • 8:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park. RC: Paul Battle, 459-6973.

Sunday, August 13

Monday, August 14

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm, Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Come learn basic riding skills every rider should know followed by a short ride. For more info contact: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Tuesday, August 15

Wednesday, August 16

Thursday, August 17

  • 6:30 pm, 15/30 mi. #3. McNeely Lake Park. RC: Steve Sarson, 499-7089.
  • 6:30 pm, 7.5 mi. #3++ (30-mile credit). Briar Hill Park Mountain Bike Trails. Hwy 22, 4 miles east of Gene Snyder Freeway. RC: Ken Hoff, 425-3212.

Saturday, August 19

  • 9:00 am, 9 mi. Turtle Ride. Big Rock parking lot, Seneca Park. RC: Joe Ward, 582-4669 (w), 897-7819 (h).

Sunday, August 20

  • 2:00 pm, 10/20 mi. #2. Ice Cream Ride. Meet at the Falls of the Ohio Interpretive Center. Free ice cream after the ride. RC: Earl Jones, 895-4850.

Monday, August 21

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm, Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Come learn basic riding skills every rider should know followed by a short ride. For more info contact: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Tuesday, August 22

Wednesday, August 23

  • 8:30 am, 35/40 mi. #3. Blue Dog Bakery & Café, 2868 Frankfort Ave. RC: Carole Sutton, 893-9216.
  • 6:30 pm, 10/25 mi. #2/3. Tour de Gil. 9014 Waltlee Road in Fern Creek. Hot dogs and drinks after the ride! RC: Gil Morris, 239-7921.

Thursday, August 24

Friday, August 25

  • 6:30 pm, 10 mi. Turtle Ride. St. Matthews Elementary. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Saturday, August 26

  • 8:30 am, 30/60/110 mi. #3/3/4. Historic Harrodsburg Ride. Taylorsville Lake Corps Visitors Center (Hwy 2234). RC: Adrian Freund, 231-1083.

Sunday, August 27

  • 8:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Vettiner Park – Mary Dell Lane. RC: Jay Palmer, 267-9175.
  • 4:30 pm, 10 mi. Turtle Ride. Meet at the Belle of Louisville/Riverwalk. RC: Marilyn Minnick, 412-4224.

Monday, August 28

  • 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm, Bike Handling Class. St. Matthews Elementary School, 601 Browns Lane. Come learn basic riding skills every rider should know followed by a short ride. For more info contact: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Tuesday, August 29

Wednesday, August 30

  • 8:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park. RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222.
  • 6:30 pm, 10/15 mi. #2. Atherton High School. RC: Mike Goodrows, 452-9236.

Thursday, August 31


PREVIOUS MONTH  | LBC home  | Touring Program  | NEXT MONTH  ]

Copyright ©2000 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 27 April 2000
last updated: 26 June 2000
by Duc M. Do