Louisville Bicycle Club
Table of Contents
January 2000
February 2000
March 2000
April 2000
May 2000
June 2000
July 2000
August 2000
September 2000
October 2000
November 2000
December 2000

September 2000 Rides & Events

Ride difficulty ratings are approximate:
    #1: Family/Beginner Ride
    #2: Mostly flat to rolling, up to 1/3 hills
    #3: Rolling, up to 1/2 hills
    #4: Rolling, mostly hills, some long, steep grades and/or long mileage
    #5: Mostly long, steep hills and/or extremely long mileage.

ANSI- or Snell-approved helmets are required

All rides will begin 15 minutes after the scheduled ride time. All riders are welcome to join us!

All phone numbers are in 502 area code except where noted.


Friday, September 1

Saturday, September 2

  • 8:45 am, 65 mi. #3. Scenic Three-County Ride. Bridgeport School just W of Frankfort off US60. RC: Michael Crawford, 244-1213.

Sunday, September 3

  • 12 noon, 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park. RC: Scott Majors, 893-1768 or 648-9350.

Monday, September 4, Labor Day

Tuesday, September 5

Wednesday, September 6

  • 8:30 am, 20/40 mi. #3. 224 Hazel Ave. Henryville, Ind. RC: Jerry Goldman, 812-294-4343.
  • 6:00 pm, 7.5 mi. #3++ (30 mi. credit). Briar Hill Park Mountain Bike Trails. Hwy 22, 4 miles east of I-265. RC: Ken Hoff, 425-3212.
  • 6:30 pm, 15/25 mi. #3. McNeely Lake Park. RC: Lauren McDonald, 244-0931.

Thursday, September 7

Saturday, September 9

Sunday, September 10

Tuesday, September 12

Wednesday, September 13

  • 8:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Crestwood Station – KY 146 & N. Camden Lane, Crestwood. RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222.
  • 6:15 pm, 18/28 mi. #3. Vettiner Park – Mary Dell Lane. RC: Jim Tretter, 491-7120.
  • 6:30 pm, 10 mi. Turtle Ride. Meet at Sam's Club on Blankenbaker Parkway. RC: Marilyn Minnick, 412-4224.

Thursday, September 14

Friday, September 15

Saturday, September 16

  • 9:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Rooster Run Ride. Iroquois Park. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.

Sunday, September 17

  • 9:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park. RC: Paul Battle, 459-6973.
  • 2:00 pm, 14 mi. #1. Family Fun Ride. Park on Witherspoon - meet on the Great Lawn. RC: Steve Sarson, 499-7089.

Tuesday, September 19

Wednesday, September 20

  • 8:30 am, 45 mi. #3. Memphis Truck Plaza. RC: A.B. Sandefur, 425-9463.
  • 6:00 pm, 7.5 mi. #3++ (30-mile credit). Briar Hill Park Mountain Bike Trails. Hwy 22, 4 miles east of I-265. RC: Ken Hoff, 425-3212.
  • 6:00 pm, 15/25 mi. #3. Prospect Point Shopping Center. RC: Paul Battle, 459-6973.

Thursday, September 21

Friday, September 22

Saturday, September 23

  • 9:00 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Vettiner Park – Mary Dell Lane. RC: Steve Sarson, 499-7089.
  • 9:00 am, 10 mi. Turtle Ride. Neighborhoods Ramble. Meet/Start at Riverfront Park. Take in Limerick, Old Louisville, Smoketown, Germantown, Phoenix Hill and Butchertown neighborhoods, with a swing through St. Michael Cemetery, and arrive back at the park 10 absolutely hill-less miles later. RC: Joe Ward, 897-7819(h) or 582-4669(w).

Sunday, September 24

  • 8:00 am, 35/55 mi. #3. Shepherdsville Shopping Center, off KY 44 in Shepherdsville, Ky. RC: Joe Kinsinger, 543-1625.
  • 3:00 pm, General Membership Meeting. Broadway Baptist Church, 4000 Brownsboro Rd. Call Earl Jones for information, 895-4850.

Tuesday, September 26

Wednesday, September 27

  • 8:30 am, 30/60 mi. #3. Long Run Park. RC: Alison Ewart, 584-4222.
  • 6:00 pm, 18/28 mi. #3. Vettiner Park – Mary Dell Lane. RC: Jim Tretter, 491-7120.

Thursday, September 28

Saturday, September 30

  • 7:00 am, 30/60/100 mi. #3. Iroquois Park. Century/Overnight Ride to Mammoth Cave or 30/60-mi out-and-back loop. Century riders can overnight at Mammoth Cave Hotel (riders need to make their own reservations) and ride back to Louisville the next morning (same route, only in reverse) or return to Louisville Saturday evening via SAG transportation (call about this option). If you want to do a shorter distance, there will be 30- and 60-mile options which leave and return to Iroquois Park. RC: Michael Pitt, 454-4559, email: mmspitt@aol.com.


PREVIOUS MONTH  | LBC home  | Touring Program  | NEXT MONTH  ]

Copyright 2000 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 26 June 2000
last updated: 27 August 2000
by Duc M. Do