Louisville Bicycle Club
Table of Contents
From the President
Awards Banquet
Club Survey
Bike Maintenance
Advocacy Matters
Racing Volunteer
Racing Training
January-February 2001 Newsletter

2000 Awards Banquet

The 2000 Awards Banquet was a great night out for the Club. We said thank-you to out-going Club officers Adrian Freund, Kimble Howard, Jim McDonald and Vic Maddox. We approved a new Executive Committee that included four officers who re-upped: VP Advocacy Cheryl Brawner, Education VP AB Sandefur, Treasurer Jim Tretter and yours truly as President; and four new officers: Alan Darby, VP Touring; Pennie DuBarry, Secretary; Norm Minnick, VP Communications; and Dave Stewart, VP Racing.

We celebrated individual achievements and recognized the contributions of our most important volunteers. In the first group were yellow jersey winners Debbie Browning and Eddie Doerr and blue jersey winners Bernice Martin and Paul Battle. Debbie, Bernice and Paul were repeat winners who have demonstrated sustained excellence. The most-improved rider awards went to Steve Engh; Heather McLaughlin and Michelle Harwood, who attended last year’s bike-handling class and went on to ride a 500-mile tour in Alaska and the OKHT Pottershop Century; and Barbara Tretter, who moved from turtle class to increase her mileage 60-fold!

We also recognized the 2000 top program volunteers, including Dave Stewart for racing; Steve Sarson for education; Bill Warner for Old Kentucky Home Tour; Scott Major as the year’s top ride captain and Pennie DuBarry for advocacy.

Finally, Jane Tyler’s huge effort in organizing and delivering the biggest, best OHKT ever earned her the overall Club Volunteer of the Year award.


Copyright 2001 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
Web posted: 31 December 2000
last updated: 1 January 2001
by Duc M. Do