Louisville Bicycle Club
Table of Contents
From the President
Achievement Awards
Polar Bear Ride
Safety Tip: Horses
Club Jerseys
Road Rashes
January-February 2004 Newsletter

LBC Banquet

by Earl Jones

More that 125 club members and their friends got together for dinner on December 6, 2003, to celebrate award winners’ accomplishments, recognize volunteers and elect 2004 officers.

The Louisville Bicycle Club Volunteer of the Year award, our highest honor, recognized two members for sustained contributions over the years.

AB Sandefur, who served two terms as Education VP, was recognized for continued leadership in the LBC education programs, from the Bike and Body Maintenance classes to the Bike Handling program. AB also runs the winter trainer tour fitness sessions, the last few New Year’s Day Polar Bear rides and served as ride captain more that 46 times last season (not counting the times he subbed for sick or MIA ride leaders).

Dave Stewart, past Racing VP and current godfather, was recognized for sustained and unfailing support of Louisville-area racing. It was Dave’s hard work and vision that brought USA Cycling’s Masters National Championships, sponsored by Papa John’s Pizza, to Louisville in August 2003. We like to think that Louisville has long had a place on the cycling map but now there’s no doubt. You might think that Dave would give things a rest but he’s already thinking about new opportunities to showcase Louisville as a premier racing venue.

Volunteers of the Year for each of the LBC programs – advocacy, communications, education, racing, touring and the Old Kentucky Home Tour – were also recognized. We are so grateful for all they did last year to make this club the success that it continues to be. And eight members were given awards for their leadership of LBC activities that contributed significantly to the club’s 2003 successes. Eighteen ride captains were recognized for leading 10 or more rides, including Donna Connell as Ride Captain of the Year for leading a series of rides based on routes in Communication VP Joe Ward’s best-selling “Wheeling Around Louisville.” (See complete list of award winners.)

We also congratulated members for outstanding individual achievement. The touring champions, who racked up the most miles and received yellow jerseys in recognition of their accomplishments, were Mary Brice and Carl Davis. The masters champions, who were awarded blue jerseys, were Bernice Martin and AB Sandefur, both of whom have won yellow and/or blue jerseys in prior years.

The racers recognized for outstanding achievement were road racers Lesley McShane and Eric Essick, and MTB racer Rob Kendall.

Four people were recognized as most improved: Karen Hoperton and Don Feeney, racers, and Ron Dobbs and Amy Usher, from the touring program.

The evening began with remarks by Charles Cash, Metro Louisville Director of Planning and Design, who related the city’s commitment to making Louisville a more cycling-friendly city and described the city’s efforts to improve conditions for cyclists. We appreciate Charles taking the time to meet with us and look forward to working with him and Mohammad Nouri, the Bicycle Pedestrian Coordinator, in making that shared dream a reality.

Finally, I’m pleased to report that the members, by acclamation, re-elected the current Executive Committee to another term. I’d like to thank each of the offers for their hard work last year and all they’ll do in 2004. They make the job as president easy and fun.

See you at the Polar Bear Ride! Don’t forget to bring something for the first-ever New Year's Day bike swap.


Copyright ©2004 Louisville Wheelmen. All rights reserved.
contact the webmaster for question and/or comment about this page.
web posted: 2 January 2004
last updated: 3 January 2004